Far away in time

Earthquake August 9, 2007

Filed under: The Coast is Toast — Echo Beach @ 1:47 am

I’m pretty sure there was an earthquake here about half an hour ago, it’s the first one (that I’ve felt) since I’ve moved here. It was very small, my paintings aren’t even crooked, but it was scarier than I thought it would be. The only other earthquake that I’ve been awake for was while I was in high school, in Spanish class actually, and it was just exciting. Plus, anything that gets you out of Spanish class is a good thing. This time I just ended up with adrenalin swirling around in my stomach. I may have also been freaked out because I’ve been worrying about my television breaking if there’s a big(ish) earthquake. It’s just sitting on top of a nightstand right now, and I don’t know if I should be securing it in some way?

On a related note, I finally saw the Tommy Lee Jones movie Volcano, which I’ve been wanting to see for years, and it was awesome. It actually achieved unexpected heights of awesome. Plus it totally helped that I now actually know where Wilshire Blvd is, and I’d been to the tar pits earlier that week. But either way, lava = awesome, even if it moves unrealistically fast.

Lastly, I pretty much hate having to come up with titles for anything, but the solitary noun post titles are getting a little too Soviet even for me, so I’m going to try to come up with something that uses more that one word in the future. (Although actual verbs might be a bit of a stretch.)

 

Leave a Reply

