Far away in time

Freaks and Geeks April 14, 2008

Filed under: Family,Home,Me,Movies,Shiny Pretty People,TV — Echo Beach @ 3:00 pm

So I just started getting Freaks and Geeks from Netflix (I’m on the second disk), but it’s great. It’s hilarious, and painful, and it represents what high school is actually like, unlike literally every other movie or television show about high school I’ve ever seen. But the reason I really like it is that John Francis Daley looks disturbingly like my little brother (who is 13 right now), and I just want to give him a hug all the time.

Sam Weir

Sadly, neither my sister or I particularly resemble Linda Cardellini, although someone did tell me this weekend that I looked like Velma from Scooby Doo who was played by Linda Cardellini in the live-action movie, so maybe it’s not that far fetched. Although I just assumed they were just reacting to the glasses / cute bob combo, someone else that day told me I could be batgirl (red hair plus black Doc Martens), so I took it with a grain of salt.

+ Batgirl = Me?

But I’m going to keep Velma in mind for a Halloween costume.

In other news I’m getting a noise headache from the hood (fan/vent combo) over my stove. I got a notice saying the gas in my building was going to be shut down today (due to a “major” but unnamed “emergency”) and this apparently has made my stove smell like gas. It makes no sense to me, but I figured a noise headache was better than a gas-fumes one, so the hood’s staying on. The notice also said “Please take all the necessary steps to be ready for this emergency” [all caps and underlined] and I hope they were talking about the emergency of having the gas shut off, and not the vague yet preplanned emergency that necessitated turning off the gas.

I am going to leave you with a you-tube video of John Francis Daley on the set of Freaks and Geeks, acting just like my little brother. And if you want to see him all growed up, Bones is finally back tonight at 8. (opposite HIMYM, but that’s a whole nother story.)

 

One Response to “Freaks and Geeks”

  1. Tony Says:

    You should say “neither…nor” or “either…or” but don’t mix them.


Leave a Reply

